Albatross

Lingering, in the shadow you lurk,

Although there have been a thousand sun rises,

Since I escaped, away from your claws.

Will I ever feel truly emancipated?

Care free, no looking over my shoulder,

No heart racing, dry mouth anxiety.

Albatross. What is it like to be without you?

To drown you in a sea of no regrets,

To witness you fly away, never to return.

Blow up a balloon, place you inside,

Watch you float away.

Bury you at a beach on a Spanish Island,

As hope embeds its seed in my mind.

Time passes, fear relinquished, strength feeds, flourishing,

Nourishing my soul, I’m ten feet tall,

Soaring, smiling, silently strong.

Albatross, you retreat, shrink and starve,

Darkness will never conquer light.

Relief, my senses devour the feeling.

When you return , I’ll remember I can win.

One thought on “Albatross

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    Like

Leave a comment